London flatshare and flats to rent
Place an ad
 

hackney E8 2 Bed flatshare £600

Pictures

London hackney E8 £600 flatshare 2 Bed flat 539108.htm
fullscreen

Contact this advertiser

Message

Raise a concern with us

Summary

£600 Exc Util & Exc CTax
1M

Available Now

On or renewed Tue Feb 23

Flatsharing with one male (Av) age 35ish looking for 25-40

Interests and occupations

Interests: vintage pop culture, politics, literature, 80s, activism, music (80s pop, synthpop, Italo disco and stadium rock (jim steinman? Journey? Heart? Survivor?); Americana, indie folk, synthwave), old TV Occupations: actor when lucky, other things when less so

Flatshare Description

Hey folx!

Double Room (not the whole flat) available in 2-bed flat share, Hackney, 600 + bills - move-in date 26th February at the latest- deposit is one month's rent.

A double room in a 2-bed flat in Hackney (near London Fields, closest station Hackney Central). The lease runs till 26th October 2021. My preference is for someone looking to stay on for the duration of the lease, and possibly beyond.

The flat is on the first floor of a Victorian terrace house and it's only accessible via two flights of stairs inside and a few steps outside the house, unfortunately - and there's a few steps leading down to the kitchen from the lounge. The front door to the house is controlled by a buzzer in the flat.

You'd be sharing with me, a queer cis guy - actor (so i might sometimes ask you to read in lines for a self-tape though that's mostly on hold at the moment, because of The Situation - happy to reciprocate those services in ways advantageous to you) - and other stuff besides, obviously. As a freelancer, I work both away from home and at home, though, at the moment, it's pretty much entirely from home. Considering it's a 2-bed, the room (medium-size double) is cheap (and not just for the area): 600 + bills (90 tops). The flat is quirky and charming (genuinely), and the landlord is cool with us redecorating (just to give you an idea, I repainted my room orange, and that was perfectly fine). The room is only partly furnished (my flatmate will leave the bed and mattress, as well as a small chest of drawers). Most of the shelves on our bookshelf in the lounge have freed up, so if you own books/DVDs, you won't have to keep them in your room.

There's one bathroom (bathtub) and a lounge with a couch and coffee table (that needs a bit of loving) and a dining table for four, as well as a kitchen with appliances and basic utensils (no dishwasher, no dryer). So if you come with kitchen stuff, there'll be room.

I'm really really keen to make it a real flatshare, where we both share in the boring, but necessary (cleaning, paying rent and bills on time - i don't want to feel like a parent again, so it'd be good if you were independent about that sort of stuff :)) and the non-mandatory but fun (watching TV and maybe cooking together, occasionally; do hackneyish/queer-ish stuff when that's possible again - would be nice if it happened, but of course doesn't have to). Either way, though, I really want it to be a safe space where we can be ourselves, whether that's the pictures we put up in the lounge or the plants we have (if any), or knowing we don't have to pretend or hide it if we feel low.

I think I'm easy to live with (he says), it won't be a party flat (I have visions of dinner and music listening parties, just to give you an idea). I'm heavily into theatre and politics (diversity/trade union activist), I sing in a male choir and I volunteer for an organisation that promotes positive masculinity and gender equality among teenage boys. I'm also obsessed with vintage pop culture (old 70s/80s TV series and US game shows, as well as Italian light entertainment shows from the 80s and 80s pop in general) and secretly watch obscure third-tier American reality TV (you may judge me: I do).

As I said, we can redecorate, so if you're keen on the idea, I'm well up for it (it is absolutely not a dealbreaker if you're not). I probably won't do any repainting or sprucing up on my own, but if you're up for it, I'm in.

The landlord is adamant that he just wants one name on the lease. However, I'm really happy to draw up a subletting contract, so that we both have a bit of security and the same rights and duties and investment in the flat.

In order for me to choose whom to invite round for a viewing, it would really help if you told me something about you as a person and flatmate, including what is important to you and what your pet peeves are. I know the above is very detailed, but that's by design

G

The property

A Living Room
Broadband
Central Heating
Washing Machine

The flatshare

The room has a Double Bed
It is a double room
The existing household hates football

Near and Near-ish Stations

hackney downs

280m away Zone 2 O

Hackney Central

408m away Zone 2 OOO

Hackney

412m away Zone 3 OO

London Fields

562m away Zone 2 O

Cambridge Heath

1462m away Zone 2 O

Rectory Road

1465m away Zone 2 OO

Map

× Place an ad Login Logout Edit/Stop/Renew
my ad
Notebook Contact us About Moveflat Getting an ad
accepted by us
Happy Flatshare Guide